Chris Weeks voted next ASOC president


Occidental students officially elected Diplomacy and World Affairs (DWA) major Chris Weeks (sophomore) as president of the Associated Students of Occidental College (ASOC) for the 2014-2015 school year. 1,060 people voted in the election this year, the largest number of voters for an ASOC election in the past five years.

“I feel relieved that it’s over,” Weeks said. “I think it’s been a very tense week. It’s been emotionally draining and physically draining. It was a good experience to reach out to people and hear a lot of the issues that I hadn’t considered before. I think we have a good direction for next year.”

Weeks won the election with 434 votes over his opponent, undeclared major Mary Fulham (first-year).

“I knew it was going to be intense; I didn’t realize how intense it was going to be,” Fulham said. “I’m thrilled that Senate is going to be in such good hands like Chris; I never had any worries about the direction of Senate. I knew Chris would do a fantastic job if he was elected, and I’m sure he will.”

Current ASOC President and economics and politics double major Nick McHugh (junior) shared his opinion on the election.

“I think the election was wildly over-politicized. Naturally, candidates are going to go against each other, but I think there were stronger forces than just Mary versus Chris — but, if the effort that both of these candidates put into their campaigns is in any way a representation of the effort that they’re going to put into next year, then I think ASOC is in a great position,” McHugh said.

Other election results include Critical Theory and Social Justice (CTSJ) major Karen Romero (sophomore) as the new Vice President for Academic Affairs and Urban and Environmental Policy (UEP) major Rachel Young (sophomore) as the Vice President for Internal Affairs.

Two more vice president positions were filled in this election: economics major William Huang (sophomore) will serve as the Vice President for Finance and undeclared major Judy Lee (first-year) will be the new Vice President for External Affairs. Both candidates ran unopposed and won their races by default.

In a very close race, politics and philosophy double major Keven Duran (junior) and DWA major Kerry Sakimoto (junior) were elected as senior class senators. DWA major Tiffany Odeka (sophomore) and DWA major Abhilasha Bhola (sophomore) were elected as the new junior class senators and politics major Adrian Adams (first-year) and undeclared major Mallory Leeper (first-year) were voted senators for the sophomore class.

Finally, kinesiology major Paige Sapienza (sophomore) was elected as the new the new Honor Board Juror.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here