ASOC election results announced: Nina Srdić Hadži-Nešić wins ASOC president

Nina Srdić Hadži-Nešić. Photo by Nancy Zhou/The Occidental

The Associated Students of Occidental College (ASOC) announced election results via email 12:04 p.m. April 19. Nina Srdić Hadži-Nešić (sophomore) won the position of ASOC president. Luca Van der Meer (first year) and Ben Ventresca (first year) are the new sophomore class senators. ASOC president and sophomore class senator were the only two contested positions in this semester’s election. Twelve candidates ran for 15 open positions. To learn more about each candidate, read The Occidental’s election coverage.

According to an email sent by ASOC VP of External Affairs Jordan Walker, who will assume the role of VP of Financial Affairs next year, the proposed ASOC Constitution passed by 613–39 votes. The new constitution proposed the creation of an ASOC mission, centralized student services under Senate and established freedom of speech protections for the press.

See the election results below.

Nina Srdic Hadzi-Nesic

VP of Academic Affairs
Jagmit Dhami

VP of External Affairs
Julia Eubanks

VP of Financial Affairs
Jordan Walker

VP of Internal Affairs
Wafa Abedin

Sophomore Class Senators
Luca Van der Meer
Ben Ventresca

Junior Class Senators
Sarah Gooderham
Noah Schucking

Honor Board Juror
Phillip Wong